An Open Letter to Mr. Cruz

Standard

Hey there Mr. Cruz,

Hope all is well. While I was going about my day on Monday, March 23, 2015, I caught wind of you making a major announcement.

What did I hear you ask?

I heard that you, Ted Cruz, announced your intent to run for the president of the United States of America at the super religiously conservative Liberty University in Lynchburg, Va. The name in itself doesn’t bode well with a certain demographic, especially after the recent Mississippi hanging.

Now Mr. Cruz, it very well may be the stress of being a Texas Senator but it would probably be a great idea to make that announcement, oh I don’t know, in Texas, maybe? I don’t have a public relations degree but common sense says that you start with the people who have continuously supported you in your political career.

You disagree? Clearly you like to go against the grain rather than have your back against the wall, or your face on camera.

Not to mention that you kind of stick to your own tea-partying, right-winged conservatives. There is nothing wrong with that. I prefer to examine all parties and their platforms instead of aligning myself permanently with a group. However, you are still going to ask me to donate I’m sure.

You are also asking Americans to forget about the damage that the last president from Texas caused when you allowed him to go to Washington, D.C. without the man in the yellow hat. He spent a lot of money, screwed up some aspects of the educational system and started an unending war. Let’s not forget New Orleans and Hurricane Katrina. I’m sure his relationship with Kayne West is still strained. While his father, the original and most intelligent George, did wonders for Americans all across the land.

Let me be clear, I’m not saying don’t run but I’m saying it’s too soon. We hadn’t had time to forget. We still remember George Dubuha. Just like we remember that you sir owe Americans something. It’s the same thing that you, Donald Trump and plenty of your Republican friends asked President Obama for less than 10 years ago. It’s the document that you guys say every “natural-born citizen” must have in order to become president.

So Mr. Cruz, may I see your birth certificate?

The validity of your citizenship is now in question not because of your mother’s status but where you were born. You see, the U.S. Law extends citizenship to anyone born to a U.S. citizen, regardless of where the birth takes place. The question is whether citizenship is the same as being a “natural-born citizen.”

See how petty that looks in writing?

So regardless of what your birth certificate says, I don’t think we will take you seriously. Something about having someone who has a tendency to throw stones despite living in a glass house, isn’t a great characteristic for the future president of the United States.

So maybe we will see you in 2020, huh?

I’m just saying.

Respectfully,

Chanel R. Davis

Leave a Reply

