Chronicles of a Single Mom: Post #4

Standard

In the past year, I’ve made an effort to work towards losing weight and living a healthier lifestyle. I’ve taken up walking daily to make sure I get some sort of exercise and stopped eating out.
I’ve learned to cut down on my proportion size, count calories and drink more water.
I’ve learned to listen to my body when it’s trying to tell me something, whether it’s a whisper or roar.
What I also learned was that there was someone watching me. Someone taking notes on the changes that I was making. It wasn’t until I heard her talking about how she needed to lose weight (she’s all of 60 pounds, soaking wet) that I realized that I had been using the word “diet” instead of “healthy.”
Thankfully, I’ve picked up on it and am trying to correct it. It seems that I’ll be getting some help with it as well.
Mattel, the maker of Barbie, has announced that they would be coming out with three new body types for Barbie beginning March 1. The dolls will now be offered in a variety of skin tones and hairstyles.
The company has been working for the past two years to bring a more diversified and realistic image of Barbie to the shelves. Last year, according to USA Today, the company introduced 23 dolls with different skin tones, hairstyles, outfits and flat feet. Ha!! This year the company will introduce different size dolls including tall, curvy and petite. Well Done Mattel!
What does this accomplish?
It shows our girls, of any skin type, that it’s okay to be healthy and not wear a size 2. It shows them that they don’t have to conform to the images that are on the magazines to be acceptable. It shows them that it’s okay to be their authentic self in their authentic bodies without the Kardashian nose or butt.
Most of all, it reinforces what we as parents should always remind them of anyway. That healthy comes with being happy, not accepted. That beauty comes in different shapes, sizes and colors. That what you bring to the table is designed to be different than the next girl. That you should celebrate that individuality with confetti, streamers and a cake.
I’m just saying.

Leave a Reply

